Match Your Kundali

Kendra And Kona Houses: Features, Effects, Facts & More!

Worshipping Lord Vishnu is grand during Agrahayana Month

The 12 bhavas or houses constitute a Vedic birth chart. Of these four are Kendra houses and three Kona houses. Kendra refers to those houses located in the Kendra or center of the chart. In a lagna chart, the first house is of the utmost importance as it points out the ascendant. Ascendant, or the rising sun, decides your basic characteristics and direction of life on the earth. But that is not enough. In fact, only after a complete analysis of the planetary positions in each house of your birth chart, you will be able to have the actual image of your life on earth.

Kendra Houses In Astrology

Kendra Houses With Their Planets
Kendra Houses With Their Planets

The Kendra houses are the second most significant houses after the Konas. These are the four houses around the center. The house numbers are first, fourth, seventh and tenth. If auspicious planets like Jupiter are present in the Kendra house, it increases the internal strength of a person. In fact, it increases your ability to overcome challenges. Disease and illness will not deter you and you will be able to fight them with courage. 


The first, fourth, seventh and tenth houses of the natal chart are called Kendra houses. Kendra houses are the houses of Lord Vishnu while Konas are ruled by Goddess Laxmi. It is said that Lord Vishnu is the lord of stability and savings, while Laxmi is the goddess of wealth, and instability. It is only when there is a combination of stability and wealth, a person can achieve growth and progress in his life. Hence, a person with Kendra Trikona Raj Yoga enjoys prosperity, wealth and intelligence.  

Kendra Trikona Raj Yoga
Kendra Trikona Raj Yoga

The number of planets in the Kendra houses determines how fortunate you will be, the more the merrier. Astrologists point out that the 4th Kendra is more auspicious than 1st, 7th is more auspicious than 4th and 10th is more auspicious than 7th. So, on the whole, the 10th house is the most auspicious Kendra house.

Kendra Houses

First House

The 1st House is known as the Tanu (body) Bhava that outlines the beginning of a life that is childhood, health, surroundings, individuality, Physical appearance and character. 

Fourth House 

It signifies homelife, internal happiness, mother’s felicity,  movable and immovable properties, general education. It also represents Kaal purush – neck and shoulders.

Seventh House

It represents Marriage, nature of spouse, happiness in the married life, DIplomacy, business partners, friendship, traveling, hidden energies. It also represents the Kaal purush-private parts. In medical astrology, Sex-related disease and deficiency are judged from this house.

Tenth House 

The Tenth Bhava is very important in terms of the profession of an individual. Your ability and competency are judged by the 10th house. It represents occupation, level of Success, means of the lively hood, self-respect, knowledge related to religion and status in the society. 

Kendras manage your life from birth till death.

Kona Houses

1st, 5th, and 9th houses are called Trikona or Trine houses, as they form a triangle in a birth chart.  They are the most powerful and auspicious houses in the chart. Goddess Luxmi is the deity of these houses. Hence, a person who has a favorable planet in these houses will be blessed with prosperity and good fortune. 

Significance of Kona Houses

Kona Houses Forming A Trikona
Kona Houses Forming A Trikona

The First House or Lagna is called Tanu Sthana, which represents your birth, the body looks, and soul, personality traits and inclinations, longevity, health, character, and nature. It is a Kendra as well as a Trikona and a Dharma bhava, all at the same time. 

The Fifth House is called Putra Sthana. It represents children, education and intellect, creativity, mantra, tantra, and pooja.

The Ninth house called Bhagya Sthana represents luck, prosperity, guru, father, religious and spiritual progress and knowledge of the scriptures, sadhana, pilgrimages. 

Another feature of  Tri Kona is that they form Kendra Trikona Raja Yoga and Trikona Raja Yoga. 

Kendra And Kona Houses In Astrology

When two or more planets are placed in Kendra and Kona Houses, and the lords of these houses form a conjunction, then a highly auspicious yoga develops called Kendra Trikona Raja Yoga. Goddess Lakshmi is the Goddess of Trikona bhava and Lord Vishnu is the God of the Kendra Bhava. Therefore,  the Raja yoga combinations give rise to authority, power, position and wealth.