Match Your Kundali

The Relationship Between Chakras And Planets

Relationship Between Chakras And Planets

There are seven planets that rule us. They are Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn. Additionally, the two shadow planets Rahu and Ketu also rule us. There are seven chakras in our body that balance our spiritual, mental and physical aspects. The relationship between the chakras and planets is that the seven planets govern the seven chakras in our body.

What are Chakras?

Chakras are the centres of energy in our body. They run from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. The word Chakra means “wheel” in the Sanskrit language. The chakras are located in the centre of a network of nerves called plexus. These chakras are also responsible for keeping us spiritually, mentally and physically balanced.

the seven chakras and the relationship between chakras and planets
An image of the 7 chakras and where they are located

All the seven chakras should be aligned for one to stay happy and healthy. Different chakras relate to different aspects of your life. Every chakra also relates to specific functions carried out by your body. When there is no balance in the chakras, one may not face major consequences. But, one may find that the specific aspect of their life related to that particular chakra will get complicated.

As mentioned above, there are seven chakras in our body. They are:

  • Mooladhara (The Root Chakra)
  • Swadhisthana (The Sacral Chakra)
  • Manipura (The Solar Plexus Chakra)
  • Anahata (The Heart Chakra)
  • Vishuddha (The Throat Chakra)
  • Agnya (The Third Eye Chakra)
  • Sahasrara (The Crown Chakra)

Relationship between planets and chakras

The chakras and planets in astrology have a significant relationship. One of the seven planets rule each chakra. As a result, every chakra displays the nature of its ruling planet. The birth chart is formulated based on the time and date one is born. Also, it shows the positions the planets were when we were born. The birth chart also depicts how the planets define our characteristics and affect our chakras.

Chakras and their planets

The planets govern the chakras in our body. The planet’s position in the birth charts define one’s nature and characteristics. By observing the different chakras and their ruling planet, one can identify the reason behind the sudden highs and lows in one’s life. Let us take a look at the relationship between planets and chakras, and how they affect a person’s life.


The first chakra is at the base of the spinal chord. It also known as the root chakra. The planet Mars rules this chakra. Mooladhara chakra represents innocence, wisdom and purity. It also represents a sense of direction and a strong connection with life. If this chakra is strong in you, it will give you wisdom and make you decisive. As a result, you will also have the ability to go in the right direction and take right decision. Mars represents strength and action and its energy is natural, intense and instinctive. Hence, the native’s attitude will be courageous, enthusiastic and curious.

A depiction of the 7 chakras in a man and the relationship between chakras and planets
A depiction of the seven chakras in a man’s body


This chakra is located in the abdomen. It is also known as the root chakra. Planet Mercury rules this chakra. Mercury represents intelligence and creativity. The role of Swadhisthana chakra is to break down fats and convert them into energy, which is required by the brain cells. This chakra also strengthens our memory and thinking capacity. If this chakra is strong in a person, he/she will be intelligent and have the ability to grasp things easily.


This chakra is located in the stomach. It represents balance, satisfaction, generosity and morality. It also signifies the capacity to evolve. The ruling planet of this chakra is Jupiter. The characteristics of Jupiter are noble, helpful, generous and virtuous. Additionally, it grants prosperity and gives the native excess of everything, both good and bad. It is also known as the planet of good luck. This chakra also enhances one’s material and spiritual life.


This chakra is located in the heart and governed by planet Venus. The characteristics of this chakra are love, compassion, self-confidence and detachment. Venus represents love, beauty and art. If Venus placed well, it creates beauty and harmony. Additionally, when the influence of Venus is strong, the person is extremely beautiful. This beauty is also reflected on their behaviour and attitude.


The crown, forehead and throat chakras and the relationship between chakras and planets
The Vishuddha, Agnya and Sahasrara Chakras

This chakra is located in the throat. It governs the ability to distinguish between the right and wrong in a person. The planet that governs this chakra is Saturn. With Saturn in the birth chart, one may feel very lonely. The position of Saturn in one’s natal chart can put a person through a testing phase. At times, the person may also find many obstacles and restrictions when he/she wants to do something. Once this phase is over, the person become stable, sturdy and detached.


The sixth chakra is in the forehead. This chakra represents one’s ego and their conditioning. The Sun governs this chakra. When the Agnya chakra is strong, their ego and conditioning cannot control them. The Sun in one’s natal chart can make a person dominating, egoistical and vain. When this chakra is strong in a person, they also have the capacity to forgive someone easily.


This chakra is located in the crown of the head. The Moon rules this chakra. Moon also governs one’s instincts, mind and emotions. According to Vedic astrology, the Moon represents one’s unconscious state of mind. When the moon is strong in one’s natal chart, the native is sensitive, sacrificing, creative and intuitive.