Match Your Kundali

Zodiacs Around The World: Differences And Similarities

Western Zodiac Signs
Western Zodiac Signs
Western Zodiac Signs And Their Personality Traits

If you think Indian and western zodiacs are the only zodiac systems that exist around the globe, then you have the biggest misconception of your life. There are as many schools of thought in this area as there are numbers of civilizations. Each culture has its own system of the zodiac based on its own history. Though each of them differs, there are many stark similarities in all of them.  


Zodiac signs around the globe share many similar features. Especially, their association with animals, belief in the movements of the planets and other heavenly bodies circling each constellation within a period of one year.  Astrology, in each and every civilization, reflects the thought that human life has a deep connection with the universe and any changes in the skies can lead to a change in the circumstances of life on earth. Difficult turns and tragedies occur in your life when heavenly bodies take a different path and give up their normal sojourn. 

Let’s now study their similarities in detail:

Spirit Animal

Spirit Animal
What Is Your Spirit Animal?

Whether it is western, Indian, Chinese or Celtic zodiac systems, all of them believe in the spirit animal. In fact, it explains why you are born with certain animal energy and it dictates your deep inner desires. These spirit animal manifests in your personality traits and your response to the surrounding environment. Besides, with the growth of knowledge and wisdom, this animal spirit recedes as you become a better version of yourself.  Therefore, 12 constellations represent 12 spirit animals. 

Aries – Hawk

Taurus – Beaver

Gemini – Deer

Cancer – Wood Pecker/ Dog.

Leo – Salmon.

Virgo – Bear.

Libra – Raven.

Scorpio – Snake.

Sagittarius – Owl.

Capricorn- Goose.

Aquarius – Otter.

Pisces – Wolf.

In the Chinese zodiac, the 12 spirit animals are Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig. Each one covering 12 months of a year, each year in a cycle of 12 years, and 5 years in a period of 60 years. 


The belief system leads to the creation of cultural values, astrological concepts and spiritual thought in any civilization. These beliefs are products of the history and environment of a place and maybe contradicting each other. Let’s study the different beliefs which led to three main zodiac systems of the world. 

Western Belief

Zodiac Signs For Each Element
Zodiac Signs For Each Element

The Western Zodiac Signs represents the belief that the individual, earth, and its environment represent a single organism that exists in correlation to each other. In fact, the sun, moon, and planets journey cross a band of 12 constellations called zodiac. Besides, 12 constellation stands for 12 signs of the zodiac. The Western Zodiac signs are based on the solar calendar(that is on the movement of the sun). These signs are Aries, Leo, Sagittarius (fire signs), Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn( Earth signs), Gemini, Libra, Aquarius( Air Signs), and Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces(water signs).

 Chinese Belief

Chinese zodiac signs
Chinese Zodiac Signs

The Chinese zodiac system is based on the belief that there should be harmony between heaven, earth, and water. Moreover, this forms the basic principle of their zodiac signs. In addition, the 12 animals that represent 12 constellations in the Chinese zodiac are Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig. Besides, these zodiac signs are calculated according to the lunisolar calendar that Chinese astrology follows.

Indian Belief

Vedic Rashi Chakra
Vedic Rashi Chakra With Their Western Counterparts

Indian belief has derived from the Vedas. The Vedic astrology believes that each of the 12 zodiac signs are divided into Rajasic ( passionate), Tamasic(Darkness), Sattvic( Harmonious) attributes. These attributes remain in each and every human being but in different proportions. Moreover, these attributes dictate your motivations on earth, which are, Dharma, Artha, Kama, and Moksha. These motivations lead to our deeds. Therefore, these deeds decide our Karma( what you do comes back to you). In fact, good karma leads to good circumstances, the bad ones will lead to vice-versa. The Indian Zodiac signs are based on the lunar calendar(based on the movement of the moon). The Indian zodiac signs are similar in sequence to the western zodiac, except that the later is in Sanskrit. Mesa( Aries), Vrsabha(Taurus), Mithuna(Gemini), Karka(Cancer), Simha(Leo), Kanya(Virgo), Tula(Libra), Vrschika(Scorpio), Dhanus(Sagittarius), Makara(Capricorn), Kumbha(Aquarius), and Mina(Pisces).

The Celtic Zodiac

Celtic Zodiac Wheel
Celtic Zodiac Wheel

The Celtic Zodiac believes that every sign is associated with your date of birth. However, the Celtic Zodiac signs are named after trees. Their zodiac signs are Birch, Rowan, Ash, Alder, Willow, Hawthorn, Oak, Holly, Hazel, Vine, Ivy, Reed, and Elder.